An interview with KPRC TV’s Dominique Sachse: how she stays healthy

Headshot of Dominique Sachse

Dominique Sachse, KPRC TV News Anchor

Houston Celebrity Fitness: How do they do it?

Each month, we will chat with a local celebrity to find out how he or she stays healthy.  This month’s interview with Dominique Sachse reveals the KPRC TV evening news anchor has a balanced approach between working out and healthy eating.  Steal some of her secrets for a healthier you!

How important is health and wellness to your daily life?   

Dominique: Health and wellness is critical to my daily life for a variety of reasons.  First of all, a healthy diet, full of nutrients and intensive workouts is a great stress reducer and promotes longevity.  As a mother of one and stepmother to five, it’s important for energy, which I need lots of, and obviously, I want to be around for a long time!

How many times a week do you exercise?

Dominique: On average, 3-4 times a week, but I’m a firm believer in intensity, so it’s a heart-pumping workout that includes strength training.

 

What exactly is your exercise regimen?  Do you incorporate different types of activities?  

Dominique: For cardio, I like spin classes or riding my bike.  I also work out with a trainer who makes me use my own body weight for strength and resistance training.  For instance, he’ll make me push and then pull him across a room.  It fires up all the muscle groups, including my core.   I’ve also done dance lessons for various charity events, and that’s a great workout, too!

Dominique incorporates walking into her exercise routine

Dominique says working out doesn’t have to be costly. Simply head out your front door for a walk.

How important is healthy eating and what approach do you take to having a balanced diet?

Dominique: Diet is 90% of how your fitness results will look.  I learned about the importance of the right protein, to carb, to fat ratio.  I eat quite a bit of lean protein: fish, chicken breasts, egg whites and turkey.  I also eat a lot of nuts for their health benefits.  I like roasted and unsalted almonds and cashews.  I try to limit my carbs to brown rice, quinoa and Ezekiel muffins in the morning.  The best rule to follow is to reduce or eliminate the whites: flour, sugar, salt and dairy.

What advice do you have for people just starting an exercise plan?

Dominique: Exercise with someone, so you can hold each other accountable and share the triumphs and failures.  You’ll be more likely to stick to it.  Also, if you can get a trainer, even if you need to share the cost with someone, I would.  Again, it’s accountability, and you’re more likely to show up if you’re paying for it.  Also, try some workout classes that might interest you.  It’s good to be around others who are doing the same thing.  And of course, there’s nothing like opening your front door and going for a brisk walk through the neighborhood.  Just try to do something, no matter your fitness or financial level.

 

Dominque in her wedding gown

As a mother to one and stepmother to five, Dominique makes health and fitness a priority so she can keep up with her large family.

Is there anything else that I didn’t ask that you want to mention related to health and wellness?    

Dominique: I think we really need to teach our kids the importance of nutrition and exercise.  I see too many kids these days eating foods loaded with saturated fats, sodium, sugar and chemicals.  I tell my family, if I can’t read what’s in the ingredients, I’m not buying it.  That will eliminate just about every processed food item in the grocery store aisles.  If you stick to foods on the perimeter of the grocery store, you can’t go wrong, and you can find some tasty foods in the process.  And, we need get our kids outside and moving!  Also, I believe in taking supplements for both adults and children.  Our foods aren’t as nutrient-dense as they used to be, and we need the vitamins and minerals for disease prevention and wellness.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to An interview with KPRC TV’s Dominique Sachse: how she stays healthy

  1. Buzz says:

    I thought you were interviewing a celebrity!

  2. Walter says:

    Plastic Surgery helps a lot also ……..

    • Freddie says:

      Surgery helps, until it becomes overdone, as in her case….

      “I tell my family, if I can’t read what’s in the ingredients, I’m not buying it.”
      Based on how poorly she reads news, her food choices must be quite limited if left to her reading ability.

      I think I speak for 97% of the city’s population when I say, stop giving this shallow person a platform to self promote her own image of herself.

  3. Johnny says:

    This woman is neither a celebrity nor a role model. I’d be disgusted and heartbroken if my daughter turned out anything like her. Find a better person to profile.

  4. oneida says:

    All this people are just jealous of how beautiful she is and yes smart, she has tones of qualities before you judge any person look at yourself first, no one is perfect not even you. God bless you

  5. Wlms says:

    Wow. There there sure is a lot of venom being spewed at Dominque. Why all the hatred? You four men must really have some deep-seeded anger issues to work out. If this beautiful intelligent woman ever approached ANY of you, you would be losing your minds.

  6. Martin Brown says:

    I agree this guy needs to chill out.

  7. Bridgette says:

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post. Also, I’ve shared
    your web site in my social networks!

  8. Louis says:

    I find Dominique very sexy, extremely attractive, very charismatic. And her diction is beautifully clear. As a presenter of the news, she is a treasure that Houston should not want to lose.

  9. Billy says:

    This woman would look beautiful even in a potato sack! She’s all heart too!

Leave a Reply

