Share Your Y Story and Win a Free Membership

Tell us how the YMCA has changed your life; you could be a winner.

If you’re a YMCA of Greater Houston member, program participant, volunteer or donor, you have a YMCA story.  Share it with us and you could win a free Y membership for one full year.

A YMCA familyWe are trying to gather stories about the impact of the YMCA.  How has the Y helped you grow?  What has the Y helped make possible for you as an individual?  What has involvement at the YMCA done for your family?  How has the YMCA helped shape your community?

We will choose a story from every YMCA of Greater Houston location and award a free, one-year household membership to a winner from each facility.

Your story is our story.  Tell us why you love the Y. Click here to share your story on our website.

As an added bonus, if you share your story by Friday, August 3, you will be entered into a drawing to win four tickets to a performance of Disney’s The Lion King on Wednesday, August 8!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Share Your Y Story and Win a Free Membership

  1. Terrence Tolden says:

    My wife was diagnosed with breast cancer in November 2011. The Y has provided our family the opportunity to stay positive throughout. It’s a place we can do things as a family, get a much needed break (kids night out), and support our kids that participate in sports programs. Thank you YMCA.

    • Trazanna says:

      Thank you for sharing your story, Terrence. We are happy to hear the positive impact the Y has had on you and your family. Please also be sure to fill out the form on the homepage of our website, http://www.ymcahouston.org, so we can get all needed information for your submission to be complete.

      • Kelli ayers says:

        Trying to upload my story , but the upload a picture is not working. Trying to upload before friday

      • Trazanna says:

        Kelli, we also saw the email that you sent to us via the “contact us” form. We are sorry you are having trouble and will follow up with you directly via email. We can’t wait to hear your story!

  2. Dana Gibson says:

    I have enjoyed the free program my Y is offering this summer. My family is getting out more & having fun. I enjoy Stacie Welch, she is the best trainer.

  3. Elisha Dunaway says:

    My husband and I are foster parents, he’s currently on medical leave from work recuperating from spine surgery and I’m trying to keep the kids occupied and having a fun summer. But sometimes I just need some “me” time! So I go to my Y and get in a great workout so I can do a good job as mom, wife, nurse, landscaper, chauffeur, maid, chef, and activities coordinator. Without the Y I would be wiped out!

  4. Laura Miller says:

    I shared and sent a picture! I hope we win! 😉 We LOVE the South Montgomery County YMCA’s!!! You guys are fabulous. We are very happy. And we LOVE THE LION KING!!! My girls have never seen a big live theater show…they would think that was sooo cool! 🙂 Thanks YMCA for all you do! Thankful you guys are in our community and that we have a wonderful family friendly facility for fun activities! Laura Miller

    • Trazanna says:

      Thanks, Laura! The winner of the Lion King tickets will be notified today. Regardless of whether you win those, you are still eligible to win a free YMCA membership for a year. Those winners will be notified by October 31. Only winners will be notified. Thanks so much for sharing your story with us.

  5. Maribel says:

    The YMCA has been a blessing to my 5 year old son and I. The time we spend together at the Y is priceless and we have built a lot of memories from his swimming lessons at 2 years old to his martial arts classes now . We have both learned how to swim thanks to the Y, I participate in exercise programs while he enjoys his martial arts class and afterwards we get refreshed in the pool especially during this hot summer! As a working mom it has helped me relieve a lot of stress and strengthened the relationship with my son. We ❤ the YMCA!

  6. Marta Lopez says:

    My mother only speaks Spanish and she was visiting me in August and felt how in Colombia, its native country, even though the majority of the teachers speak english, she felt as in its house and in classes as Yoga with Nicole, it made be understood as out and that made us feel very good to my mother and to me.

    Mi madre solo habla español y estuvo visitándome en Agosto y se sintió como en Colombia, su país natal, apesar de que la mayoría de los profesores hablan ingles, se sintió como en su casa y en clases como Yoga con Nicole, ella se hacia entender como fuera y eso nos hizo sentir muy bien a mi madre y a mi.

Leave a Reply

